SAIF’s 53rd Annual Awards Dinner

The South African Institute of Foundrymen’s 52rd Annual Awards Dinner was held at the Emperors Palace, Convention Centre, Kempton Park, Gauteng on Friday 3 June 2016.

200 foundrymen, guests, wives and award winners attended this year’s event. Duane Rockwell was MC for the evening. The dinner was well supported by sponsors in the form of prizes for the award winners, and ticket sponsors for the award winners and VIP guests invited by the Institute.

The SAIF would like to thank the following sponsors for their valuable contributions to help make the evening a success. These included the guest gifts and tickets for the award winners: Ametex, Castings SA, Durrans RMS, Endeco Omega Foundry Machinery, Finecast Foundry, Foseco South Africa, IMP Scientific, Insimbi Alloy Supplies, Kimberley Engineering Works, Lauds Foundry Equipment, Pentagon Resources, Prima Industrial Holdings, SI Group, Thos Begbie, University of Johannesburg and Zinchem.

Awards handed out on the evening were as follows:
Lauds Technical Award (formerly known as the Colin Butler Award) – Randal Wahl from Wahl Industries for the best technical presentation presented by a SAIF member during 2015 “Using solar power in foundries”.

Non-Member Diploma – Clive Wray from Rayten Engineering Solutions for the best technical paper presented to the Institute during 2015 by a non-member: “Mobile extraction systems to meet emission monitoring requirements”.

Insimbi Refractory and Alloy Supplies / Sasol Synfuels Procurement & Marketing Award – Charles Rapetswa from the University of Johannesburg for the highest marks achieved by a 1st year metallurgy student for 2015.

Foseco Award – Lebohang Mafokeng from the University of Johannesburg for the highest marks achieved by a final year metallurgy student for 2015.

Honorary Member Award – Nigel Pardoe for services to the Institute.

Special Learner Awards for completion of the Foundry Diploma Programme modules – Abednigo Motaung, Remigio Kuvawoga, Opeoluwa Dada, Frank Mlungwana, Mathew Mabena, Dan Mangena and Philimon Phaphu.